Between

It’s between classes now. That’s always a hard time to get things done because so little seems to happen. My most productive season between was when I went out to my grandmothers house. I don’t do well otherwise. To fix this, I’m going to read KL by Shakespeare over the summer and I’ll be reviewing poetry from my poetry books too. I think it’ll be good to do some in depth reading for some of them. I have The Outlaw Bible of American Poetry, Poems that Live Forever, and 180 More Extraordinary Poems for Every Day. They’re by a variety of authors, so I should end up with some interesting poems.

If you’re not interested in Poetry or Shakespeare, you probably won’t want to put me on the reader’s list.

For now, I think I’ll stick to Paradise Lost but no quotes today, I’m just going to chatter about it. The story in general was difficult to read because of the long descriptions. I quickly found myself skipping parts of it just because there was so much description that didn’t seem to play a part, such as Hell. In the end, I did get hung up on some descriptions though, like describing the body change from humanoid/angel to serpentine for Satan, and the descriptions from Eve eating the fruit. It was interesting to me when it was relevant to the story.

The best part of reading it was how things actually worked through in the story. He didn’t use the description while people and things were still, he just continued to describe everything that was going on, and add the descriptive language to create the scenes. So instead of describing Eve as if she’s standing still on a platform to be viewed for the first time, he describes her in motion, and what she is doing. It is a different way to look at descriptions for me, because I like to describe things in a picture instead of describing things in a movie.

It will be interesting to try to apply this to my own writing, but I’ll get there eventually, as they always say. He also had all of the characters really filled out. They each had their own thing going on and I think he added too much description of minor characters for us to focus on the story, but that’s a problem with our generation, needing other people to focus our attention. We should, according to Milton, have all of the information to focus on what we want ourselves, without the censoring of lack of knowledge. I don’t have the time to write like that, let alone read like that. I suppose in a way, Milton was making us decisive readers my making it so long and allowing us to pick what we wanted to skip.

Leave a Reply

